Just write something …


Half-boiled blood

Posted in Social fabric by dearestfriend on April 20, 2007

I don’t know why I even feel the need to write it.
Something Virginia Tech shooting seems to have induced in me. A deep sense of sadness. How we are vulnerable for not only our mood swings, bad temper but also that of people around us. Not only our dear ones and known ones, but unknown ones too..
It tears heart when you see those vibrant young people’s photos flashing all across news channels. Unfortunate students, who fell prey to some senseless mentally ill person. I wish their families and friends find peace and solace. But some where we all forget one thing..Is this all byproduct of our own society? Or mental illness is some kind of bizarre state which you can acquire all of sudden. Not sure if we can really figure out what went wrong where..Every time I hear such thing, my blood boils, but I always get amazed, boiling has never caused it go out of veins, so probably it just simmers and keep half -boiling..

All we see on news is, photos of some bright individuals, who loved life and who had future plans. Who didn’t think “unpredictability of life ” can touch them ever. Whenever there is any mass loss of lives for any insignificant reason… I always sit down to ponder.. What did it all summed for those people now.. They were running to attend another class, get one more grad, better car, better career, better partner, better job.. Everything better better better.. And we all keep running..Unless we seize to run by some idiot’s bullets or by a demon called age, illness anything damn..
I know news channels make it like some feast to grab as many viewers as possible. How else you explain “insane display of videos, photos of that jerk”. Why nobody sat down thinking it could hurt people, it could induce more maniacs.. Do as average human being it gives any reprieve that he didn’t do it “out of sudden”. I don’t know why but I hate it when someone cashes on other’s sadness.
We are making hero out of ill person , While we should be mourning over the society we are heading to become.
I guess better sense prevailed and today morning I saw CNN and all other channels focusing on victims and their families. That’s last thread of support we can give them.
I am somehow handling this grief while typing this post. I have been keeping for couple of days now. Though I didn’t know anyone personally. But I do lose sleep when any senseless loss of life happens anywhere. When innocent middle class people died on local train bombing in Mumbai India last year.. I did silently mourn for days.. I don’t know just the sense that I travelled in those locals some 10-20 times, I felt I bonded to those average people struggling their way to their work every day on those busy locals…
When innocent people fell prey to Tsunami, even then i was numb.. This “snatching of life” for any reason makes me go numb..
Now this goes for people who are directly related to the loss in Vtech..
” I know it hurts endless to know the dear one is no more, it hurts to know that he or she will no more giggle, no more laugh, no more demand anything from you. But lemme tell you best thing you can cherish in your mind about them for years is ‘they all loved life, they were bright kids, and they didn’t do anything to deserve it.’ So let the tears roll, let the cheeks go wet, hold each other and assure, this is not normal way life is supposed to go.But life has to go on. Let the memories make you sad, let yourself feel as low as you inner self wants to do.. More you hold it, longer it will hurt.. Any hurt is of two kinds, one we continue refusing and it stays longer with us, it pains more to us. Other kind is which we accept with rolling tears and heavy throat and hugs to realize , life goes on… the dear one is looking to you from heaven .. And saying I love you too..”

May God bless you and all of this world

Leave a Reply

