Just write something …


Eloquence

Posted in Social fabric by dearestfriend on April 10, 2007

I am going to pick out some words I love more than other in English . This is first of it..

Wikipedia deifinition of Eloquence

Eloquence (from Latin eloquentia) is fluent, forcible, elegant or persuasive speaking in public. It is primarily the power of expressing strong emotions in striking and appropriate language, thereby producing conviction or persuasion. The term is also used for writing in a fluent style.

Well its quite a terse definition. Simplest in my understanding could be, A small beggar girl saying stern ‘No’ to a pervert passerby offering money… for simple and practical meaning of anything complicated, I always resort to poverity and utter needfullness I have seen around me while in India. I love India , not for all its diverse things but for people’s zeal to “keep going and have a laugh too” even in starkest moments.
I have seen eloquence in many forms from people not required to show it off.
I had maid servant way back. Her husband had suddenly left after just months of marriage. And she and her mother-in-law (yeah strange enough) were struggling their life to live with whatever small dignity they could muster. Whenever my roomamtes and I would gift them anything , they would politely refuse saying.. They are working here , all they need is regular salary , no charity.

Then it was a rickshaw puller, I had once my way from hostel to bus stop. He asked if i could do little math for him. I said what it was. He told he needs to find how long he can use 75000 Rs (which he has saved in 15 years of rickshaw pulling), if he gave 375 each month to his son. I asked him why he needs it, He said his son is studying in engineering college and the kid works hard to pay off his education expense. He said he does 3 jobs after college. So he worried if he has time for studies.
I could n’t stop asking myself why some are so poor and some are so rich in India.

next one..
It was my maid in hostel. She had her legs bent inwards. Thats seemed like birth defect. She was around 50 or 60 years of age. But you would get amazed by the speed and perfection she cleaned your room. She was only maid who never took excuse of illness to feign off work, in whole of two years I stayed. I would often ask her to leave my room unlcleaned. She would just joke ..”Bai.. mera kaam chenne kaa irada hai ?” (means Madam, you want to snatch my work?)

I dont know If i find poor people more approachable or more personable.. But I am surprised all the three acts of eloquent human behaviour I could remember was exhibited by them.

Leave a Reply

